Submission

I run

Away from the world

Unfinished battles now behind

Pain cruising through me,
crushing me in measures

taking pleasure in my misery.

I cry, I scream
My anguish in vain

Salty droplets trickle down my cheeks

And when despair drills deeper

I hear a faint voice

from a strangely familiar place

The echoes find me

And tug at my heart

‘Allahu Akbar Allahu Akbar’

‘Allahu Akbar Allahu Akbar’

‘God is great’ says a resounding voice

No, he is greater

Greater than my worries

of losing battles, and fleeting pleasures

Greater than those pursuits which never really mattered

The distant voice now comes from within-

‘Ash-hadu an la ilaha illa allah’

I testify there is no God but Allah

The chain snaps

and my heart is set free

Million little things placed on a pedestal,

And worshipped night and day

Now seep out and instead,

Resides a growing flicker of belief

In Al Ahad, The One

All knowing, creator of each atom

‘Ash-hadu anna Muħammadan-Rasulullah

I testify that Muhammad is his prophet
A mercy to the mankind,

His life an example

His battles bigger, sorrows deeper

Trials endless, night and day

Then came a time, when his wife-Khadijah-was no more
Still mourning a lifetime of love now lost,

news came that his uncle too was gone

His grief was immense but his submission was greater

He let the tears flow but with them to Allah he turned

The echoes now get stronger

‘Hayya ‘ala s-salah

It invites me to submission

To take my heart to it’s Protector
The Giver of Peace can rejoin those pieces!

Hayya ‘ala ‘l-falah

And now a call to success

Success- which I yearned for

never rested in this dunya

It lay in a greater purpose

And here was a reminder
‘Allahu Akbar Allahu Akbar’

‘Allahu Akbar Allahu Akbar’

‘La ilaha illa allah’

The voice ceases but leaves a seed in my heart

A prayer escapes my lips,

‘Oh Allah, I need your help!’

Before a blink the seed sprouts
It’s spring so soon!

Now firmly rooting itself in that vulnerable flesh

Tiny tendrils of faith now burst out,

Wiping away years of neglect,
mending gashes that the dunya gifted

You see after the world I ran

A mirage, always out of reach

A tantalising illusion, toying with my fantasies

A perpetual game of hide and seek where I was the loser

What happiness I had, I lost it in its chase

But now with this seed came new hope

A new leaf, a new life

A path too pure

Splash

Cool water on my hands and face,

Up till the elbows and above the ankles

I watch the drops as they fall off my face

With them go my sins

And my fears slink away

I stand now

United with my new family,

Transcending boundaries, ignoring colours

A tie stronger than blood, bound by faith

One Lord, One direction

A straight path now illuminated

I raise my hands- Allahu Akbar

Now forehead on the ground,

Acknowledging his greatness

I’ve now submitted.

My journey has begun

And peace, is now here.

 

Image
3 thoughts on “Submission

      • let me tell u this that I join the wordpress because of your post ” today i woke up dead” u posted in facebook in a group “on fire”
        n i checked your blogs it’s verily about Islam n encouragement of muslimah…so i jst loved ’em…<3 ❤ ❤
        jazak'Allah

What do YOU think?

